History

In Russian literature, informal documents, and discourse, the word "Saint" is usually omitted, leaving "Petersburg" . In casual conversation Russians may drop the "burg" as well, referring to it as "Piter".

Saint Petersburg was founded by Tsar Peter the Great on May 27 1703. Between 1713–1728 and 1732–1918, Saint Petersburg was the imperial capital of Russia. In 1918, the central government bodies moved from Saint Petersburg (then named Petrograd) to Moscow.It is Russia's 2nd largest city after Moscow with 5  million inhabitants (2012) and the fourth most populated federal subject. Saint Petersburg is a major European cultural center, and also an important Russian port on the Baltic Sea.}

Saint Petersburg is often described as the most Westernized city of Russia, as well as its cultural capital. It is the northernmost city in the world with a population of over one million. The Historic Centre of Saint Petersburg and Related Groups of Monuments constitute a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Saint Petersburg is also home to The Hermitage, one of the largest art museums in the world. A large number of foreign consulates, international corporations, banks, and other businesses are located in Saint Petersburg.





 

The area of Saint Petersburg city proper is 605.8 square kilometers (233.9 sq mi). The area of the federal subject is 1,439 square kilometers (556 sq mi), which contains Saint Petersburg proper (consisting of eighty-one municipal okrugs), nine municipal towns – (Kolpino, Krasnoye Selo, Kronstadt, Lomonosov, Pavlovsk, Petergof, Pushkin, Sestroretsk, Zelenogorsk) – and twenty-one municipal settlements.

Petersburg is situated on the middle taiga lowlands along the shores of the Neva Bay of the Gulf of Finland, and islands of the river delta. The largest are Vasilyevsky Island (besides the artificial island between Obvodny canal and Fontanka, and Kotlin in the Neva Bay), Petrogradsky, Dekabristov and Krestovsky. The latter together with Yelagin and Kamenny island are covered mostly by parks. The Karelian Isthmus, North of the city, is a popular resort area. In the south Saint Petersburg crosses the Baltic-Ladoga Klint and meets the Izhora Plateau.

The elevation of Saint Petersburg ranges from the sea level to its highest point of 175.9 meters (577 ft) at the Orekhovaya Hill in the Duderhof Heights in the south. Part of the city's territory west of Liteyny Prospekt is no higher than 4 meters (13 ft) above sea level, and has suffered from numerous floods. Floods in Saint Petersburg are triggered by a long wave in the Baltic Sea, caused by meteorological conditions, winds and shallowness of the Neva Bay. The four most disastrous floods occurred in 1824 (421 centimeters or 166 inches above sea level, during which over three hundred buildings were destroyed[35]), 1924 380 centimeters or 150 inches, 1777 321 centimeters or 126 inches, 1955 293 centimeters or 115 inches, and 1975 281 centimeters or 111 inches. To prevent floods, the Saint Petersburg Dam has been constructed.[36]

Since the 18th century the terrain in the city has been raised artificially, at some places by more than 4 meters (13 ft), making mergers of several islands, and changing the hydrology of the city. Besides the Neva and its tributaries, other important rivers of the federal subject of Saint Petersburg are Sestra, Okhta and Izhora. The largest lake is Sestroretsky Razliv in the north, followed by Lakhtinsky Razliv, Suzdal Lakes and other smaller lakes.
Due to location at ca. 60° N latitude the day length in Petersburg varies across seasons, ranging from 5:53 to 18:50. A period from mid-May to mid-July when twilight may last all night is called the white nights.

История

В русской литературе, неофициальных документах и обычных беседах часть "Санкт-", как правило, опускают, оставляя только "Петербург". В случайном разговоре русские могут отбросить и "-бург", и называть город просто "Питер".

Санкт-Петербург был основан Петром Великим 27 мая 1703 года. С 1713 по 1728 и с 1732 по 1918 Санкт-Петербург был столицей Российской империи. В 1918 году центральные правительственные органы переехал из Санкт-Петербурга (тогда носившего имя Петроград) в Москву. Петербург - второй по величине город России после Москвы, в котором проживает 5 млн жителей (на 2012 год) и занимает четвертое место среди самых населенных субъектов федерации. Санкт-Петербург - огромный центр европейской культуры, а также важный российский порт на Балтийском море.

Санкт-Петербург часто называют самым европейским городом России, а также её культурной столицей. Это самый северный город в мире с населением более одного миллиона. Исторический центр Санкт-Петербурга и связанные с ним памятники входят в список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Санкт-Петербург также является домом для Эрмитажа, одного из крупнейших художественных музеев в мире. Большое количество иностранных консульств, международных корпораций, банков и других предприятий расположены в Санкт-Петербурге.





 

Площадь города составляет 605,8 квадратных километров (233,9 квадратных миль). Площадь субъекта федерации - 1439 квадратных километров (556 квадратных миль), в него входят собственно Санкт-Петербург (состоящий из восьмидесяти одного муниципального округа), девять городов (Колпино, Красное Село, Кронштадт, Ломоносов, Павловск, Петергоф, Пушкин Сестрорецк, Зеленогорск) и двадцать один поселок.

Петербург расположен в пределах Приневской низменности, на прилегающем к устью реки Невы побережье Невской губы Финского залива и на многочисленных островах Невской дельты. Наиболее крупные острова - это Васильевский (не считая искусственный остров между Обводным каналом и Фонтанкой и остров Котлин в Невской губе), Петроградская сторона, остров Декабристов и Крестовский остров. Последний вместе с Елагиным и Каменным островами покрыты в основном парками. Карельский перешеек, к северу от города, является популярным курортным направлением. Южнее Санкт-Петербурга расположена Ижорская возвышенность, являющаяся частью Балтийско-Ладожского Глинта.

Высота Санкт-Петербурга колеблется от 0 и до самой высокой отметки в 175,9 метров (577 футов) над уровнем моря на Ореховом холме на юге города (Дудергофские высоты). Часть территории города к западу от Литейного проспекта не выше 4 метров (13 футов) над уровнем моря, и не раз страдала от многочисленных наводнений. Причина наводнений в Санкт-Петербурге - длинные волны в Балтийском море, вызванные метеорологическими условиями, ветрами и особенностями поверхностности Невской губы. Четыре наиболее катастрофические наводнения произошли в 1824 году (421 сантиметр, или 166 дюйм, над уровнем моря, в течение которого более трехсот зданий были разрушены), в 1924 году - 380 сантиметров, или 150 дюймов, в 1777 году - 321 сантиметр, или 126 дюймов, в 1955 году - 293 сантиметра, или 115 дюйма, и в 1975 году - 281 сантиметр, или 111 дюймов. Для предотвращения наводнений была построена Санкт-Петербургская дамба.

С 18-го века городской рельеф был искусственно поднят, в некоторых местах более чем на 4 метра (13 футов), что привело к слиянию нескольких островов и изменению гидрологии города. Кроме Невы и её притоков в Санкт-Петербурге есть и другие крупные реки - Сестра, Охта и Ижора. Самым крупным озером является Сестрорецкий разлив на севере, после него идут Лахтинский разлив, Суздальские озера и другие более мелкие водоемы.
Благодаря расположению на почти 60-й параллели северной широты длина день в Петербурге меняется в течение года, от 5 ч 53 мин и до 18 ч 50 мин. Период с середины мая до середины июля, когда сумерки могут длиться всю ночь, называют "Белые ночи".